Losari Coffee Plantation: Ahhh…. this is heaven!

Reception house

Located on the side of a tiny dirt road about 1.5 hours drive from either Semarang or Jogjakarta, Losari Coffee Plantation Resort and Spa is totally hidden from the world unless you specifically look for it. But once we parked our car, we’re definitely in paradise. We heard birds chirping, felt fresh breeze on our face … occasionally smelling of coffee. We had one staff taking care of our car, another of our luggage, and another of our check-in process which took no more than 2 minutes. A much needed warm welcome after 1.5 hour brutal drive from Jogjakarta which included going through flooded areas and several toilet stops because I had an upset stomach.

The Room *****

The 4-poster bed

The villa where we stayed was phenomenal. Every villa in the complex was an old house bought from all around Central Java, then moved brick by brick to location. It looks like my grandparents’ house in Jepara, and it instantly gave me a feeling of home. The villa is huge, with a super king four-poster bed, complete with kelambu (mosquito net), a divan to read or play board games, an ample balcony with an open shower overlooking Mounts Merapi, Merbabu and Andong.

Activities ****

catur

Contrary to my worry that my 10-year old was going to get bored in such a tranquil place, he was perfectly happy about reading his book at the balcony, soaking himself in the copper bathtub, or just commenting on every bird and insect he saw. As for the adults, there is the award-winning spa and a range of tours you can sign up on. I would have thrown myself at the hamam spa had the price not been overwhelming🙂 In the morning, at 10am, the staff would take guests to a walk around the coffee plantation to watch coffee-processing and their plantation area. I was impressed to see that they grow just about every fruit and vegetable they serve to us, organically. My upset stomach was instantly healed after I had my first meal at Losari … which bring us to my next point:

The Food *****

We had dinner and breakfast there. Generally speaking, they are not the ShangriLa that tries to offer you everything you can imagine. Losari is not about variety, but about offering you what they do best: Indonesian home-cooking experience.

Our dinner buffet consisted of martabak telor, pisang goreng, urap sayur, soto, sate, empal daging, and several other Javanese delights. Plus wedang jahe for me to fight the cold night. The staff even generously offered me to takeaway a plateful of martabak telor, realizing that I was still recuperating from diarhoea and couldn’t eat much. That was just downright thoughtful!

Our breakfast was glorious. Sitting on a verandah overlooking the mountains and the coffee plantations underneath while sipping their home-grown coffee and home-cooked bubur soto ayam and nasi rawon … my oh my, I miss going there already! Even my stepson, used to eating American breakfast all his life, enjoyed eating soto ayam with lots of bihun, calling it “my own Indonesian noodle soup”🙂

The Service *****

I made several comments about the staff already. They are truly five-star, if not beyond … because I often see a certain “templateness” about the way branded five-star hotels serve you. Everyone there was just genuine, from the hotel staff to the gardener. For a remote resort which hires a lot of local villagers as their staff, I’m quite amazed at their English skills and just how responsive they are.

For about Rp 2.5 million a night for a two-bedroom villa (2007 special rate for Indonesians), including breakfast for 3, this resort is a heavenly value. I would recommend it to every family or honeymooner seeking a total retreat from the crazy world. Ideal length of stay would be 2-3 nights. I wished I had stayed longer .. we were there only for 1 night, craving to go back since the day we checked out!

Check http://www.losaricoffeeplantation.com for more information of the resort.

Leave a Reply

